Presidential Election Reflection

on

20 years from now my nieces and nephews, because I don’t want kids of my own, will know I voted for Barack Obama in 2008 and 2012. They’ll know I was never into politics since it’s all a bunch of well-dressed lies. But I had to pick a side, and it was his.

I’ll tell them that Georgia hasn’t been a Democratic state since the Bill Clinton era in 1992, but voting still matters.

I’ll recount to the best of my ability how I cried in 2008. I was sitting on the blue couch that was in the basement shedding tears because history had been made; the opportunities for minorities had officially expanded. I knew Granny was happy but it was late so I would wait to call her the next day.

In 2012, I was in college. I was in my last semester of college. I made it. I was on my way to being somebody, and the president of the United States was still someone I approved of. Granny was no longer with us, having passed away in April, but I knew she would’ve been happy too.

Though I can’t say the same about my fellow voters, it was definitely much more than a black man in a white house for me. Healthcare. Education. Money. Social Security. Planned Parenthood. Middle class equality. Government Assistance. They were all issues that were relevant.

I’ll tell them I was glad to be on my parent’s insurance for a few more years because one month and eight days away from graduation, I had no job/internship lined up.

I look forward to the next four years. Is Obama planning to change some of his own policies after realizing they didn’t work as well as he planned?

Democrat. Libertarian. Republican. Anti-government. Whatever. We all just want a more stabilized economy.

Leave a Reply

