Creed Movie Review

The first thing that popped in my head when I saw the movie trailer for Creed a few months ago was, “WHY!” That was followed by, “when did Apollo have another kid?”

If you know anything about Rocky Balboa and Apollo Creed, then you’ve been privy to some awesome 80s films! Some of you know the story, some of you just want to see Michael B. Jordan shirtless, whatever works for you. But if you don’t know Paulie and Adrian, then I suggest you sit in front of Netflix for awhile to truly get an understanding of the legacy they tried to re-establish in Creed.

Creed Movie PosterNevertheless, I personally name Rocky IV as one of my favorite movies, and one of the best boxing movies ever made. I watch that fight with the Russian with new respect each and every time, which is why I was annoyed with movie producers for not letting the storyline die. But truth be told, it annoyed me all the same when in 2006 they decided to make Rocky Balboa. Sylvester Stallone is OLD and has been old for quite some time. Movies involving boxing, guns, and saving the world should be over for him, but I digress.

Rocky IVCreed is about Adonis Johnson (Michael B. Jordan), the new Hollywood golden boy who makes his way to Philly leaving behind a great corporate job in finance to become a full-time fighter. No one wanted to train him, so he seeks out Rocky Balboa (Sylvester Stallone), who initially says no to the task but eventually gives in.

In case you were wondering whether or not you missed something in an earlier Rocky film you did not. Michael B. Jordan is Apollo Creed’s random bastard son who pops us solely in 2015. What better way to taint a legacy than to produce a film literally 30 years later that suggests Apollo cheated on his wife? And what better way to make the storyline even more awkward than to have Apollo’s widow, played by Phylicia Rashad, adopt the young boy who’s been in and out of foster care and juvenile detention centers because he’s also a heathen who’s mother passed away? NTRESTN

But moving on. All in all, it wasn’t a terrible movie. It is entertaining, so you will enjoy it. I always feel the need to sign up for more boxing classes after watching them do workouts. It truly intrigues me. I will admit, however, I laughed during some parts where other people were probably crying and sad, but I just couldn’t take some of the scenes seriously. For instance Tessa Thompson was initially his rude neighbor who turned out to be his girlfriend by the movie’s end.

Tessa is a singer who has progressive hearing loss. Why? What is the significance of giving her this defect? I don’t understand. She got mad and took her hearing aids out, so she didn’t hear Michael apologizing through the door. And please know I was CRACKING UP!

Why is it always necessary for there to be a love scene? Why couldn’t he just move to Philly, train and become a great boxer. What did Tessa have to do with ANYTHING? She was absolutely useless.

Then I wasn’t too fond of Creed’s running scene with the motorbikes and 4-wheelers as they popped wheelies down the streets of Philly. Rocky referenced to it earlier in the movie, saying it was a Philly thing. It’s kind of symbolic of the city rallying around Creed and supporting him, but I still thought it was tacky. Remember Rocky III? Balboa runs up the steps, random strangers are following him, and he has his own little victory celebration? It’s clear these two scenes are meant to be parallel, but one clearly was more eloquent and well thought out than the other.

Michael B Jordan as Adonis Creed

And as always things were just predictable. We all knew he was going to get in a pointless street fight on his way to stardom because it was already established he had a bad temper. We all knew his girlfriend was going to get upset and shut him out when he needed her the most. And we all knew Phylicia wasn’t going to truly leave him out to dry.

I also didn’t like the way the final fight scene between Johnson and Pretty Ricky Conlan was shot. It screamed video game. I can’t really describe it, but it just looked so fake. It was way too bright and there were entirely way too many camera angles; I had a headache. However, I will still say it was a decent fight. Not better than Rocky IV, but a decent fight nonetheless. And the people I happened to be in the theater with would agree it’s a crowdpleaser as they clapped and cheered and gasped like they were sitting in the arena. -___-

Again I say, the movie wasn’t bad. Go see it! Enjoy the adventure…I will always love Rocky’s ridiculously deep, barely audible voice, and I don’t mind looking at Michael B. Jordan, but please don’t add another movie to the franchise. PLEASE

 

Leave a Reply

